A "100-night mattress trial" sounds like a promise that you can sleep on a mattress for three months and send it back for free. Sometimes that is true. Often it comes with conditions that matter more than the number of nights: where you bought it, whether it is a custom size, whether you got freebies, and whether the brand refunds at all.
The single most important point for deal hunters: several brands say their trial applies only to mattresses bought on their own website, not on Amazon or Flipkart. If you buy a mattress in a marketplace sale, plan on the marketplace's much shorter return window, not the brand's trial.
We read the published trial pages of eight mattress brands sold in India (checked on 6 November 2026). Here is what they actually say and what to check before you order.
Quick comparison of brand trial terms
| Brand | Trial | Marketplace orders covered? | Refund or replacement | Notable conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Sleep Company | 100 nights | No – excludes Amazon, Flipkart, Pepperfry, Urban Ladder | Refund of amount paid | Delivery and installation charges not refunded; kids range excluded |
| FLO | 100 nights | No – own website only | Exchange or full refund | Logistics charge if you ordered the wrong size |
| Kurlon | 100 nights | No – official website only | Refund | Custom sizes excluded; freebie cost deducted; one return per customer |
| Livpure | 10 nights | No – excludes Amazon, Flipkart | Refund | Freebie cost deducted; original bag needed; custom sizes excluded |
| Sunday | 100 nights | Not stated | Full product cost | Free pickup; custom sizes covered; shipping fee not refunded |
| Sleepyhead | 100 nights (standard sizes) | Not stated | Refund | Free return pickup; original invoice needed |
| Durian | 100 nights | Not stated | Refund | Custom sizes excluded; one return per household |
| Wakeup India | 100 nights | Not stated | Replacement only, no refund | Must be free of stains or damage |
Terms change, so always open the brand's current page before buying. Sources are linked in the sections below.
Where you buy decides whether the trial applies
This is where most shoppers get caught. The rules are written plainly on the brands' own pages:
- The Sleep Company says its 100 Nights Trial "is not applicable for purchases made through any 3rd party retailer like Amazon, Flipkart, Pepperfry, Urban Ladder".
- FLO says only purchases on its own website are eligible, and for Amazon and Flipkart you should "refer to the marketplace policy".
- Kurlon limits its trial to original purchases through the official Kurlon website; dealers and marketplaces are excluded unless approved in writing.
- Livpure says its trial "is not applicable on purchases from other Marketplaces e.g. Amazon, Flipkart etc."
On a marketplace, the return window shown on the product page is what counts. Flipkart's furniture return page, for example, describes 10 days from delivery or installation for items that are damaged, defective or not as described, with the product returned in original condition. That is a protection against a bad delivery, not a "try it and decide" trial.
What this means for you: a marketplace sale price can still be the better buy, but only if you are fairly sure about firmness and size. If you are unsure, the brand's own site with a real trial may be worth a slightly higher price. Compare both before you decide; the brand-site price and the sale price are often closer than the banner suggests.
"Full refund" doesn't always mean every rupee back
Read what the refund covers:
- Charges outside the mattress price. The Sleep Company reimburses "only the actual amount paid at the time of purchase" and does not refund delivery charges, installation charges, promotional discounts, exchange bonuses or other fees.
- Freebies. Kurlon and Livpure both deduct the cost of any free pillows or other freebies from the refund. A "free pillow" offer can therefore reduce what you get back.
- Shipping and EMI interest. Sunday says it refunds the full product cost but its shipping fee is not refundable; its exceptions page adds that EMI interest your bank returns is cut from the refund. The Sleep Company says bank EMI and interest charges are at the bank's discretion.
- Replacement instead of refund. Wakeup India's policy is clear: "No refund will be issued under the sleep trial. Only replacement is available." A trial that only swaps the mattress is useful if the firmness is wrong, but it won't help if you simply want your money back.
If you are paying through no-cost EMI, read our explainer on no-cost EMI hidden costs before you combine it with a trial purchase.
Sizes, sale stock and "one return per household"
Exclusions to look for before you click buy:
- Custom sizes. Kurlon, Durian and Livpure exclude custom-size mattresses. The Sleep Company and Sunday say custom sizes are covered. If your bed is non-standard, this alone can decide the brand.
- Wrong size ordered. Livpure won't accept a return for a wrong size, and FLO applies a logistics charge. Measure the inside of your bed frame, not the old mattress.
- Discounted stock and sale-price changes. The Sleep Company excludes discounted display stock sold in stores. Livpure, Durian and The Sleep Company say a lower price in a later sale is not a reason to return.
- One-time use. Kurlon allows one return per registered customer, and Durian and Livpure limit it to one return per household. A trial is not something you can use on every purchase.
- Model swaps. Several brands, including Livpure and Durian, do not treat a change to a different model as a trial return.
Condition rules: protect the mattress from night one
Every brand we checked wants the mattress back clean and undamaged, but the wording differs. Kurlon rejects mattresses with "liquid spillage, dirt, stains, or damage". Durian asks for "no stains, tears or other soiling including odours". Livpure needs the original gunny bag and PE cover. FLO asks you to keep the inner plastic bag until your trial ends. Sunday is more relaxed: it says stains from normal use are fine, but it won't take back a mattress that is very dirty, torn or cut.
Practical steps:
- Put a waterproof cover on from the first night. Our mattress protector deals are a cheap insurance against losing your refund to one spilt cup of tea.
- Keep the invoice. Sleepyhead, Kurlon, Durian and The Sleep Company all mention the invoice; some ask for a hard copy and the warranty card.
- Keep the packaging the brand asks for (bag, polythene cover) until the trial ends.
- Take dated photos when the mattress arrives. The Sleep Company, Durian and Sleepyhead mention photographs as part of a return.
Timing: minimum nights, deadlines and refund speed
Most brands set no hard minimum, but several ask you to give the mattress time: The Sleep Company and Durian suggest at least three weeks, Sleepyhead recommends about 30 days and Sunday suggests 30. That is reasonable, because a new foam mattress often feels different after the first few weeks.
Watch the start date too. Kurlon counts 100 calendar nights from delivery. The Sleep Company asks for damage or wrong-size issues to be reported within 10 days of delivery, and Wakeup India within 72 hours of receiving the package. Pickup and refund then take time: Kurlon says pickup is scheduled within 7–15 days and the refund within 15 working days of pickup; FLO says a return usually takes 14–21 days; Sleepyhead says up to 15 working days; The Sleep Company 5–7 working days after inspection.
Put the trial end date in your phone calendar the day the mattress arrives, a week or two before the real deadline.
How to use this when you shop
- Unsure about firmness? Buy from the brand's own site, read its trial page, and keep everything clean and documented.
- Know exactly what you want? A marketplace sale can be cheaper. Check the listing's return window and the seller, and compare the price with the brand's own site.
- Check the deal before you buy. Browse current mattress deals on Deals Basket and use the price tracker to see whether a "sale" price is actually lower than recent checks. Our guide to checking whether a sale price is real explains how.
- Add a protector and pillows only if you need them. Free accessories can be deducted from a refund, so don't let a bundle decide the purchase.
Frequently asked questions
Does the 100-night trial apply if I buy a mattress on Flipkart or Amazon?
Usually not. The Sleep Company, FLO, Kurlon and Livpure say their trials apply only to purchases from their own websites. Marketplace orders follow the return window shown on the marketplace listing, which is typically short and meant for damaged, defective or wrong items.
Will I get my full money back under a mattress trial?
It depends on the brand. Some refund the product cost but not delivery or installation charges, and Kurlon and Livpure deduct the cost of freebies. Wakeup India offers only a replacement, not a refund. Read the refund section of the brand's trial page before buying.
Can I return a custom-size mattress under a trial?
Only with some brands. The Sleep Company and Sunday say custom sizes are covered, while Kurlon, Durian and Livpure exclude custom-size mattresses from their trials.
Do I have to use a mattress protector during the trial?
Most trial pages don't require one, but they do reject mattresses with stains, spills or damage. A waterproof protector from the first night is the simplest way to keep your mattress eligible for return.
How long does a mattress trial refund take?
Brands state different times: The Sleep Company says 5–7 working days after inspection, Sleepyhead up to 15 working days, Kurlon within 15 working days after pickup, and FLO usually 14–21 days from the return request. Pickup scheduling can add more time.




